Vision

Electrifying Synthesis

Electrosynthesis made EaSY
for our customers

ESy-|LABS

ESy-Labs as an innovative spin-off from the Johannes-Gutenberg-University Mainz and the Fraunhofer Society is specialised in electrosynthesis for the production of organic as well as inorganic resources.

ESy-Labs provides electrosyntheses from the g-scale to the low ton-scale per year, beeing supplemented by integrated biotechnological and chemical catalytic process steps. This gives ESy-Labs a worldwide unique service porfolio.

Foundes in August 2018, the company works between the production of renewable energy and chemical conversion. Based on that, ESy-Labs offers consulting, custom electrosynthesis and process devvelopment, to provide the technology electrosynthesis tailored to suit a market need and cheap for customers.

  • Cross couplings of aryls
  • N,N-coupling
  • Benzoxazole synthesis
  • Nitroreduction to amines
  • Nitrile synthesis
  • Dehalogenation
  • Conversion of biomass
  • integrated Biotech- and Chemtech-Electrosynthesis
  • Inorganic feedstocks from waste streams
  • Inorganic salts and oxides
  • Metal separation and refinery
  • integrated Biotech- and Chemtech-Electrosynthesis
  • component and materials development
  • demonstrators and decentralised factories
  • connection with power suppliers

Let's electrify the world| of chemical synthesis

ESy-Labs uses the technology electrosynthesis/electrocatalysis fort he production of high-value chemicals like pharmaceuticals or precursors for that, finechemicals (ESy-Organics) and metals as well as metal compounds (ESy-Inorganics). In detail, electricity from renewables is used as energy donator via electrodes for the conversion of chemicals in a reaction medium. The technology is dominated by know how from materials science, electrolyte conditions, organic and inorganic synthesis as well as electrochemical cell design, reactions mechanisms and kinetics, depending on the application. Furthermore, especially the combination of electrosynthesis with biotechnological and chemical catalysis in cascade reactions shows the USP of ESy-Labs.

Due to a continuous and semi-automated operation mode under minimized safety restrictions, electrosynthesis is ideal for a decentralised application (ESy-Factory). With our technology, ESy-Labs offers process as well as product innovations and combines specialty products with services in a flexible and cutomer oriented way.


Our methods| offer manifold advantages

On demand production of toxic or hazardous chemicals

Replacement of toxic and expensive oxidizers or reduction agents

Avoidance of chemical waste

Use of renewable energy

B2B and no publishing neccessary

New reaction sequences and reactive power adjustable

Compatible with medical directives

About us| and our partners

Dr. Tobias Gärtner

CEO, PhD in Chemistry and project experience of over 8 years in the field of renewable energy and catalytic chemical conversion at Fraunhofer IGB
Dr. Tobias Gärtner takes over the CEO position at ESy-Labs and is located in Regensburg, Germany.

Prof. Dr. Siegfried R. Waldvogel

CTO, PhD in Chemistry, Professor at the Johannes-Gutenberg University in Mainz and over 200 research papers and patents in the field of organic electrosynthesis.

Prof. Dr. Volker Sieber

Consultant at ESy-Labs, PhD in Chemistry, Professor at the TU München and Head of institute brach BioCat, Fraunhofer IGB, over 23 years experience in the field of biotechnology and conversion of biomass.


We cooperate| Our partners

Your contact| Get in touch with us!

info(at)esy-labs.de
+49 941 94686 700

 

deen

Vision

Electrifying Synthesis

Electrosynthesis made EaSY
for our customers

ESy-|LABS

ESy-Labs als innovative Ausgründung der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz und der Fraunhofer Gesellschaft ist auf die Technologie der Elektrosynthese zur Herstellung von organischen und anorganischen Rohstoffen spezialisiert.

Dabei steht die Elektrosynthese im Bereich von Gramm bis wenigen Tonnen pro Jahr zur Verfügung, wobei diese durch integrierte biotechnologische und chemisch-katalytische Teilschritte ergänzt wird und somit das Portfolio der ESy-Labs GmbH einzigartig macht.

Gegründet im August 2018 bewegt sie sich im Querschnittsbereich von regenerativer Energieerzeugung und chemischer Konversion. Dabei hat ESy-Labs kundenorientierte Beratungsleistung, elektrosynthetische Auftragssynthese und Prozessentwicklung im Portfolio, um den Kunden die Technologie Elektrosynthese bzw. -katalyse bedarfsgerecht und kostengünstig zur Verfügung stellen zu können.

  • Kreuzkupplungen von Arylen
  • N,N-Bindungsknüpfung
  • Benzoxazolsynthese
  • Nitroreduktion zu Aminen
  • Nitrilherstellung
  • Dehalogenierung
  • Konversion von Biomasse
  • Integrierte Biotech- und Chemtech-Elektrosynthse
  • Anorganische Rohstoffe aus Reststoffströmen
  • Anorganische Salze und Oxide
  • Metallseparation und Raffinierung
  • Integrierte Biotech- und Chemtech-Elektrosynthse
  • Komponenten- und Materialentwicklung
  • Demonstrator- und dezentrale Anlagen
  • Verbindung mit Stromproduzenten

Die Welt der chemischen Synthese| wird elektrifiziert!

Die ESy-Labs GmbH nutzt die Technologie der Elektrosynthese bzw. -katalyse, um hochwertige chemische Verbindungen wie pharmazeutische Wirkstoffe und deren Vorläufer, Feinchemikalien (ESy-Organics) und Metalle sowie Metallverbindungen (ESy-Inorganics) herzustellen. Im Detail bedeutet das, dass Elektronen, welche aus erneuerbarer Produktion stammen, aus einer Elektrode die nötige Energie für die Konversion von chemischen Substraten in einem Reaktionsmedium liefern. Die Technologie wird durch Knowhow in den Bereichen Materialwissenschaften, Elektrolyteigenschaften, organische und anorganische Chemie sowie Zelldesign, Reaktionsmechanismen und -kinetik je nach Anwendung dominiert. Darüber hinaus trägt vor allem die Kombination mit der Biotechnologie oder der rein chemischen Katalyse in Kaskadenreaktionen zur Ausbildung des Alleinstellungsmerkmals bei.

Aufgrund der Eignung von Elektrosynthese bzw. Elektrokatalyse für einen kontinuierlichen, teilautomatisierten Betrieb unter reduzierten Sicherheitsbedingungen, ist die Technologie problemlos für einen dezentralen Betrieb erweiterbar (ESy-Factory). Mit der Technologie Elektrosynthese hält die ESy-Labs GmbH Prozess- bzw. Produktinnovationen vor und kombiniert Dienstleistung und Produkt flexibel und anpassbar für den Kunden.


Unsere bewährte Methode| bietet vielfältige Vorteile

Bedarfsorientierte Herstellung von toxischen oder gefährlichen Chemikalien

Substitution von toxischen oder sehr teuren Oxidations- und Reduktionsmitteln

Vermeidung von Chemikalienabfall

Direkte Nutzung erneuerbarer Energie

B2B und keine Veröffentlichungszwang

Neue innovative Reaktionssequenzen und Anpassung der effektiven Reaktionsenergie möglich

Kompatibel zu Medizinrichtlinien

Wer wir sind| und unsere Kooperationspartner

Dr. Tobias Gärtner

CEO, Promotion in Chemie und über acht Jahre Projekterfahrung im Bereich erneuerbarer Energie, chemisch-katalytischer Umsetzungen und Nutzung anorganischer Reststoffströme am Fraunhofer IGB.
Dr. Tobias Gärtner wird bei ESy-Labs die Geschäftsführung mit Sitz in Regensburg übernehmen.

Prof. Dr. Siegfried R. Waldvogel

CTO, Promotion in Chemie und Professur an der Johannes-Gutenberg Universität in Mainz, mehr als 200 wissenschaftliche Publikationen und Patente im Bereich der organischen Elektrosynthese.

Prof. Dr. Volker Sieber

Beratende Tätigkeit bei ESy-Labs, Promotion in Chemie, Professur an der TU München und Institutsteilleitung am Fraunhofer IGB, mehr als 23 Jahre Projekterfahrung im Bereich Biotechnologie und Konversion von Biomasse.


Wir arbeiten zusammen| Unsere Kooperationspartner

Ihr Ansprechpartner| So erreichen Sie uns!

info(at)esy-labs.de
+49 941 94686 700

deen